​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​

Board Members

Based on Article 4 and 6 of the Emiri decree no 7 of 2013, the QCHP board was formed to manage the council affairs in order to achieve its aims, as well as the achievement of the overall purpose of the QCHP board by ensuring that quality healthcare is provided to all citizens and residents in the State of Qatar through the operational regulatory governance while continuing to foster enduring relationships in the region and further afield .

The board has commenced its work at their inaugural meeting which was held in the Ministry of Public Health's headquarters in March 2014.

List of QCHP Board Members


  • H.E. Dr. Ghalia bint Mohamed Al-Thani

    • Chairperson of the Joint Oversight Board of Calgary University

    • Co-Chair of the Joint Advisory Board of Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar


  • Dr. Faleh Husain Ali

    • Visiting Professor at Imperial College London

    • Visiting Scientist at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health


  • Dr. Abdul Salam Al-Qahtani

    • Board Member and Head of Medical Committee at Qatar Red Crescent Society

  • Dr. Abdulla Mohammed Al Kaabi

    • Acting Chief Medical Officer of Sidra Medical and Research Center (Sidra)

    • Board Member, Governance for BioBank Qatar

  • Prof. Ibrahim Janahi 

    • Chairman, National Permanent Licensing Committee, Ministry of Public Health (MOPH)

  • Professor Sir Graeme Catto

    • Former President of the General Medical Council (GMC)

    • Emeritus Professor of Medicine, Universities of Aberdeen & London.

  • Dr. Javaid Sheikh 

    • Dean of Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar

Health Features